Regbak is a freeware portable tool that lets you backup and restore the Windows Registry in a few seconds.
How to Use
Start ‘Regbak’. Set the folder to which registry files are to be backup-ed. The default backup folder created is ‘Regbak’ inside your ‘Windows’ folder. But you can set your own locations. <DATE> and <TIME> are variables you can use while setting your path. They represent the current date and time respectively.
Now, select the ‘Registry Hives’ to backup. By default, the ‘System’ and ‘Current User’ hives are selected. You can instruct the program to backup the rest of the hives also by enabling the ‘Other Available Hives’ option.
To set various options of ‘Regbak’, click the ‘Options’ link at the bottom of the tool. This will take you to the ‘Options’ page. The various options available are explained below.
- Default backup folder:
- Here you can set the folder to which ‘Regbak’ should create the backup files. By default, the backup folder is <%’SystemRoot%>Regbak<DATE>’ where ‘<%SystemRoot%>’ means your current Windows installation folder, and ‘<DATE>’ means the current date.
- For example: If you have installed Windows in C: drive, the date is Sept. 09 2008, and the backup path is set as ‘<%SystemRoot%>Regbak<DATE>’, then the corresponding backup location is ‘C:WindowsRegbak2008-09-09’.
- You can also use the word ‘<TIME>’ so that backup folders are created using current time.
- For example: If the time is 11:11:25 PM,
- ‘<%SystemRoot%>Regbak<DATE><TIME>’ means ‘C:WindowsRegbak2008-09-0911-11-25’
- Overwrite any existing backups in the backup folder:
- If this option is enabled, the previous backups created, if any, will be deleted while creating the new backup.
- Do not delete any backups:
- Old backups will not be deleted while creating new backups and no matter how many days old.
- Delete backups that are older than ‘x’ days:
- Old backups which are older than ‘x’ days will be deleted automatically. By default, it is set to ’30’ days.
- Delete all backups except the last ‘y’:
- Only the latest ‘y’ backups will be kept in the backup folder. Older backups will be deleted automatically. By default, it is set to ’10’.
Note: The above ‘delete backup’ options are applicable only to those backups created in your hard disk(s).
Select the ‘Registry Hives’ to backup. By default, the ‘System’ and ‘Current User’ hives are selected. You can instruct the program to backup the rest of the hives also by enabling the ‘Other Available Hives’ option.
After selecting the backup folder location and the hive(s) to backup, click ‘Next’.
This will take you to a confirmation page. Click ‘Start’ to begin the backup process.
Clicking ‘Show Progress’ will show you the backup operation progress: which file is being backup-ed.
After successfully saving the Registry files, click ‘Cancel’ button to close the program. Also, you can go to the folder where the backup was made by clicking the path shown.
If you are keep on learn how to recover deleted registry keys, here